Lesson 58: Pre-solo brush up

The last time I flew with Mac it was explicit that he’s going to give me a solo check ride and clear me (if all goes well), and I left him my log book to review and sign.  But that was almost two weeks ago, before Ellen and I went to San Francisco for a one-week vacation.  He told me that once I got back I should go up with John at least once to sort of air the cobwebs out and get back into the groove.  So that’s what I did Thursday.

John and I flew up the coast and then went inland a bit to do some steep turns and climbing turns.  Mac and I did these way back when, and now I need to start focusing in them (and a few other things) for my FAA practical exam that will happen at some point in the not-too-distant future.

There were a couple of cool things about the lesson.

First, as we were taking off and at about 300 feet, John asked me what I would do if the engine failed right then.  Keep in mind that at 300 feet, there would be no time to try all that engine-starting stuff I discussed during the last post.  At 300 feet you had better be ready to just land somewhere.

And I was on it.

I had a street already picked out directly ahead of us that was right in line with our direction of flight.  I pointed to it and said, “There.”  And he was OK with that.

Then, we got to 3,500 feet — our planned cruising altitude — and I leveled out and had us flying a direct course right up the coast.  And I remarked to John how different it was from about a year ago, when leveling out was like a roller coaster ride, and maintaining a course was almost impossible.  But now I can do both with no problems and no auto-pilot, just pure flying.  It was nice.

And I was very happy with the turns, too.  When you do a 360 degree steep turn (which is what we were doing), you lose the vertical component of lift and the plane wants to descend.  So you have to pull back hard on the yoke, and sometimes even add thrust.  All the while keeping the ball centered with appropriate rudder control.  I’ve had problems coordinating it all in the past, but I pretty much had it down this time.

So after a bit of that we went to Oceanside to do some landings.  Mac was right…there were cob webs.  My first landing I actually had to do a go-around.  I had turned in too soon, and consequently was a bit too high when I crossed the runway threshold.  I probably could have landed it, but there would have been some fierce braking action to stop the plane before reaching the other end of the runway.  So I just pushed in the throttle…climbed back up…and went around.

The next four landings were all good.  What was really cool was that Mac was out instructing another student in another plane, and as luck would have it they were at Oceanside, too, practicing landings.  I didn’t realize that the other plane had Mac in it, and when I did my fourth and last landing there, they was at the end of the runway waiting to take off.  So I did a really good landing, which Mac got to see from an outsider’s vantage point.  (And he commented on it when we got back.)

So that was that.  And now, with luck, I will be successfully evaluated for solo flying the next time I fly.  Fingers crossed…

5 responses to “Lesson 58: Pre-solo brush up

  1. I have to say, having watched this process from the outside and seen, first hand, the looks of fun and fear and anticipation and frustration (you get the idea) on Rick’s face after his lessons, that I am in awe that he’s about to do his first solo. Way to go, Rick! Almost there.

  2. Rick;
    Sounds like you’re doing great and ready for the FAA. Good luck buddy.

    Aaron

  3. Hey Rick,
    Congrats again on the solo! From reading your blog it sounds like you’re becoming a great pilot. You’ll fit right in the ranks of us paranoid, detail oriented, obsessive compulsive, (egocentric maybe)… pilots! 😉 Why are we that way? Because there really are soooo many things that can go wrong up there, and soooo many things you have to do, be aware of, and control, simultaneously. Most of them can kill you, and the things that don’t will either scare the hell out of you or get you in really big trouble. And there’s no one to ask for help or whine to when you’re in the thick of it. It’s all on your shoulders. You really are something special if you can do this stuff. A lot like SEAL Team. As you know, I’ve been around a lot of both SEALs and pilots. There are a lot of similarities. The systems seem to select out for the same personality traits, and for good reason.
    You’re certainly a great writer too! I’ve read articles in Flying magazine that were’nt as good!
    Hoo Yah!……..Fred 767ER Pilot, Delta Airlines / Navy SEAL

    • “most of them can kill you”

      I really didn’t need that, Fred. LOL!

      Anyway, glad you’re enjoying the blog. And yes, it sure seems as though a lot of SEALs end up flying, too. In our class I think Bill Guild got his private pilot license, I know Jimmy Breitspecker did, and Rich Cobb became a helicopter pilot. I heard rumors many years ago that Clouser was flying, but as with all things you hear (or heard) about Clouser, the truth is probably stranger than fiction.

      Take care.

  4. Carter McAdams

    Rick – best of luck, my friend. I wish I could be there when you land (and watching Ellen watch you). I’m sure you’ll do beautifully.

Leave a comment